sucker Punch not the sucker punch critics claim it was   Leave a comment

Sucker Punch not the sucker punch that critics claim it was

the minute I saw the preview for sucker punch I knew it was a movie I wanted to see and I waited for months for it to come out. I mean come on it looked bad ass. When it finally did come out the reviews I was reading on it were horrific. The critics basically lambasted it, but of course that didn’t stop me from seeing it because most critics are jackasses with no apparent clue as to what real people actually like. I was however desperately hoping they were wrong…thankfully they were. As usual, it seems they didn’t know what they were talking about. A common slur was that this movie had no story. Again they were wrong, sorry critics you suck. Personally I thought the story was excellent and the cinematography was unbelievable. How these wonder douches could give this movie the beat down like that is unbelievable to me. In my humble opinion, this was a well executed movie and well worth seeing. I commend the director and actors and would highly recommend this movie for anyone. I can only imagine they just didn’t get it. Perhaps the story was too complicated for them, because I found the story to be extremely intricate. Beyond that, it had a very strong philosophical message that was summed up in the last line of the movie.

It went a little something like this:

who honors those we love for the very life they live
who sends monsters to kill us and at the same time sings that we’ll never die
who teaches us what’s real and how to laugh at lies
who decides why we live and what we’ll die to defend
who chains us and who holds the key that can set us free
it’s you
you have all the weapons you need
now fight

 

I’m not sure that is exactly it, but it’s something like that. I figure maybe there was something in there about who has the map to get you where you’re going or something like that. I couldn’t find it right now, but if I do in the future I will add it to this blog.

I think when the critics look at this movie they were just seeing the external story, which in effect is a simple story. The external story of this movie is just about a girl who has to go after five items that she needs to escape. If you are only looking at that, it would be a pretty lame plot. The real story however is the inner workings of this girl’s mind and what she mentally goes through to give herself the inner strength she needs to escape the unjust and cruel world that, through a series of unfortunate events, she found herself stuck in. She does this by using techniques that are proven to work, probably techniques we should all be using. She envisions her battles using dramatic symbolism, basically creating a movie in her mind. By doing this she is creating a sense of urgency and pumping herself up to do what needs to be done. In anything you do, if you can envision doing it before you actually do it, you will have a greater chance of success. If, in envisioning, what you’re about to do, you were to exaggerate things for yourself, you can kind of trick your mind and understanding how important it is. That gives you the sense of urgency. Using symbolism? From my point of view, it’s kind of like creating anchor points in your mind.

The other thing she did was use her imagination to put herself in a movie if you will. This can help in many ways, it can vilify your enemies, you can make your current situation seem a little more pleasant than it actually is, you can mentally create the script of what’s going to happen, and let’s face it, most movies have happy endings. At any rate, that’s kind of the way I saw it more or less and if you studied philosophy or NLP to any extent, you might see it something like that to.

Along the short of it is, the movie didn’t stink, the critics did.

I give the critics to thumbs down!

Go see the movie:)

Posted April 2, 2011 by bioranger in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

